Skip Navigation

This table is used for column layout.

Link to Home Page
Town Resources
Quick Links

Energy and Climate Committee
Contact TypeContact Information
Anne Harris
Ellen R. Tohn
Wayland Town Building
41 Cochituate Road
Wayland, MA 01778
Formerly known as the Energy Initiatives Advisory Committee

In May 2017, the Board of Selectman, at the request of the Energy Initiatives Advisory Committee, agreed to modify the Committee's name to be the Energy and Climate Committee, to reflect current and future activities.

The Energy and Climate Committee (ECC) is charged with advising the Board of Selectmen, other town boards and committees, the Town Administrator, the School Superintendent and School Committee, and the Public Buildings Director on all issues related to reducing energy use and mitigating climate risks.  These include energy conservation measures, procurement of heating/ventilation/cooling equipment and technologies, policies regarding use of energy and greenhouse gas emissions, renewable energy technologies, equipment and grants, and efforts to engage residents in community wide efforts.  The Committee will work in consultation with the Board of Selectmen in pursuing any significant Town policy initiatives.  If the Energy and Climate Committee (ECC) determines that additional professional or vocational expertise is needed to support specific efforts, it may petition the Board of Selectmen for appointment of non-voting associate members for a limited term.

The five members will serve staggered three-year terms.

The Public Buildings Director and Town Administrator will serve as ex-officio members of the committee.

Background: On February 9,2009, the Board of Selectmen voted to establish a temporary advisory committee to be known as the Energy Initiatives Advisory Committee (EIAC) with an indefinite number of members appointed based on professional or vocational expertise in any one of the following areas: energy systems, alternative energy technologies, "green building" design and construction, heating, ventilation and cooling equipment and technologies, energy conservation programs and equipment, or governmental agency with responsibility for energy or energy-related programs or grants.

On June 16, 2014, the Board of Selectmen voted to make the EIAC a permanent committee, as the Committee's work has demonstrated the need for a permanent advisory committee to oversee various and ongoing energy and green efforts.  The EIAC will be comprised of five residents with the professional or vocational expertise as listed above whose staggered terms will take effect on July 1, 2014.

To transition to a permanent Committee, the five positions were assigned staggered terms- two 3-year positions, two 2-year positions and one 1-year position.  Each position having a 3-year term with the subsequent appointment.

Link to PageLink to Page
Additional Links:
Link to PageLink to PageLink to Page
Anne Harris
Ellen R. Tohn
Tom Sciacca
William Huss
Harvey Michaels
John Harper
Non-voting Associate Member
Michael Staiti
Non-voting Associate Member
Kaat Vander Straeten
Non-voting Associate Member
Photo of Wayland
Town of Wayland    41 Cochituate Road, Wayland, MA 01778-2614    Tel: (508) 358-7701    FAX: (508) 358-3627
Website Disclaimer & Privacy Policy        Virtual Towns & Schools Website