Wayland Cultural Council Meeting Minutes January 9, 2024

Note: In compliance with the March 22, 2020, Massachusetts Office of the Governor's Order Suspending Certain Provisions of the Open Meeting Law, M.G.L. c. 30A, s. 20, this meeting was live streamed on local broadcast on WayCam. Public comment was made available via the "hand raise" function on Zoom. The Chair, Rachel Sideman-Kurtz identified by name all Wayland Cultural Council ("WCC") members in attendance (identified below).

Council members in attendance: voting members: Rachel Sideman-Kurtz (Chair), Ashley Fuller, Lynne Lipcon, Dona Mitra, Naresh Mysore (Treasurer), Nora Rothschild. Non-voting members: Annabelle Zhang (WHS Student, Senior), Student liaison, Emma Li (WHS Student). Absent: voting member: Pallavi Nagesha (Vice Chair).

7:04 p.m. Call to Order

There was no public comment.

Ms. Sideman-Kurtz informed the council that David Wong has resigned from the council.

Review and approve minutes of 12/12/23 meeting

Ms. Lipcon moved that the minutes be approved, amended to reflect the proper date, Dec. 12, 2023 (not12/13). Mr. Mysore seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously with roll call vote 6-0-0-- Ashley Fuller, Rachel Sideman-Kurtz, Lynne Lipcon, Dona Mitra, Naresh Mysore, and Nora Rothschild all voting in favor.

Treasurer Update

Mr. Mysore reported that the council has \$10,925 which must be allocated to this year's grant recipients.

Award Notifications

Grant notifications cannot be sent out until we allocate the total amount of \$10,925. After some discussion of various ways to allocate these funds, Ms. Lipcon moved that the first 13 grantees receive the full amount requested and that #14, HRDEI, receive the originally designated \$1000 plus the remaining balance. Ms. Fuller seconded the motion which carried unanimously with roll call vote 6-0-0-- Ashley Fuller, Rachel Sideman-Kurtz, Lynne Lipcon, Dona Mitra, Naresh Mysore, and Nora Rothschild all voting in favor.

Ms. Sideman-Kurtz will input the new numbers into the MCC system and grant recipients will be notified.

Grantee reception

Discussion was tabled in the absence of the lead person, Ms. Nagesha.

Youth News

Ms. Zhang reported that the Chinese Association has started planning with WHS for lunar new year celebration. They are eager to hear about their grant.

Ms. Zhang is taking over from Ms. Rothschild as our social media lead. She is trying to link 3 social media accounts (Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram) which will matter if we start to track analytics.

She will check what sort of events to post.

Bulletin Boards

Ms. Rothschild would appreciate sharing tasks. Is anyone intersted in keeping the calendar for boards? While no one was able to take on leadership of bulletin boards, Ms. Sideman-Kurtz, Ms. Lipcon and Ms. Mitra offered to help with specific tasks.

It was suggested that we again post a grantees board to be in place for March Grantees reception.

Ms. Li is connected to WHS art clubs and offered to reach out to get students to produce work for a town bulletin board.

Banners

Banner is up at WHS but will come down soon. Banners will go up on town boards shortly.

Utility Boxes

Ms. Rothschild reported that it is time to send out a "call for art" for utility boxes with proposal due date in March and painting date in late April. Two years ago, the theme was Nature. Last vear it was

Community. Various themes around peace and unity were discussed.

Ms. Lipcon moved that this year's theme be "Peace and Community." Mr. Mysore seconded the motion which carried unanimously with roll call vote 6-0-0-- Ashley Fuller, Rachel Sideman-Kurtz, Lynne Lipcon, Dona Mitra, Naresh Mysore, and Nora Rothschild all voting in favor.

Ms. Rothschild will send out the call noting that themes of political or religious nature will not be accepted.

There were no other items not reasonably anticipated within 48 hours.

Next meeting

February 13, 2024, at 7 p.m. on Zoom

Adjourn at 7:46

Ms. Fuller moved to adjourn at 7:46. Mr. Mysore seconded. The motion carried unanimously with roll call vote 6-0-0-- Ashley Fuller, Rachel Sideman-Kurtz, Lynne Lipcon, Dona Mitra, Naresh Mysore, and Nora Rothschild all voting in favor.