

TOWN OF WAYLAND

41 COCHITUATE ROAD
WAYLAND, MASSACHUSETTS 01778

Meeting Minutes
BOARD OF SELECTMEN
Wednesday, May 5, 2021
3:20 p.m.
Wayland Town Building
Council on Aging Room
41 Cochituate Road, Wayland, MA

BOARD OF SELECTMEN LEA T. ANDERSON MARY M. ANTES THOMAS J. FAY CHERRY C. KARLSON DAVID V. WATKINS

Note: In compliance with the March 12, 2020 Massachusetts Office of the Governor's Order Suspending Certain Provisions of the Open Meeting Law M.G.L. Chapter 30A, Section 20, this meeting of the Board of Selectmen was live streamed on local broadcast on the WayCAM Government Channel and open to the public to view and participate via Zoom. No in-person attendance of members of the public was permitted. Public Comment was available by both telephone and Zoom during the designated time.

Attendance: Lea T. Anderson, Thomas J. Fay, Cherry C. Karlson, David V. Watkins. The Board participated remotely by video-teleconferencing via Zoom and WayCAM.

Absent: Mary M. Antes

Also Present: Assistant Town Administrator John Bugbee, Management Analyst Seath Crandall

A1. Call to Order by Chair, Review the Agenda for the Public At 3:22 p.m., C. Karlson called the meeting of the Board of Selectmen to order when a quorum was present and reviewed the agenda. C. Karlson announced that the meeting would be broadcast and recorded by WayCAM in compliance with revised Open Meeting Law requirements and announced by full name each Board member who was present. C. Karlson announced that no in person attendance by members of the public would be permitted, and reviewed the procedure to provide public comment via Zoom.

A2. Announcements and Public Comment There were no announcements from the Board. There was no public comment.

A3. Committee Appointments: Interview and potential vote to appoint: **Some applicants listed will be interviewed at a later date

Committee	Potential Appointee	Term End Date
Human Rights, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee	Karen Blumenfeld Kylie Byrne (S)	Terms to be decided.
*Comprising of: 9 Voting members	Adrienne Correia (S) Isabella Donovan (S) Dovie King	Term dates for voting members include:
7 non-voting members (2 of which shall be student members)	Richard Lee Jenny Levine Janot Mendler De Suarez	June 30, 2022 (3) June 30, 2023 (3) June 30, 2024 (3)
(S) indicates student	Ingrid Palacios Heather Pineault Jessica Schendel	Term dates for non-voting members include:
	Jane Sciacca Yamini Ranjan Yauwu Tang Isabel Xue (S)	June 30, 2022 (2) June 30, 2023 (2) June 30, 2024 (3)

C. Karlson announced that the Board had interviewed eight candidates at the previous meeting and would interview seven additional candidates at this meeting. Committee candidates Adrienne Correia and Isabella Donovan joined the meeting by video-teleconference and reviewed their interest in joining the Human Rights, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee (HRDEIC) with the Board. The Board interviewed the candidates, asking what they would bring to the committee, ideas about new initiatives, and to describe their own experience. The candidates expressed their preference for voting versus non-voting positions. The Board discussed the criteria to select the candidates of the HRDEIC.

The Board then interviewed candidates Dovie King, Heather Pineault, and Yamini Ranjan, who joined the meeting by video-teleconference. There was a discussion around funding sources for HRDEIC. The Board then interviewed Kylie Byrne and Isabel Xue who joined the meeting by video-teleconference. The candidates expressed their preference for voting versus non-voting positions.

The Board deliberated on the candidates in relation to the charge of the committee and the roles that needed to be filled. D. Watkins expressed support for the appointment of Karen Blumenfeld, Dovie King, Ingrid Palacios, Richard Lee, Yamini Ranjan, and Yauwu Tang to serve as voting members.

- T. Fay expressed additional support for the appointment of Heather Pineault, L. Anderson expressed additional support for the appointment Janot Mendler De Suarez, Jessica Schendel and Jane Sciacca. C. Karlson noted that M. Antes had also expressed support for Jenny Levine. L. Anderson noted that J. Levine was the one candidate who expressed preference for a non-voting role. C. Karlson expressed additional support for the appointment of Richard Lee, Janot Mendler De Suarez, Yauwu Tang and Jane Sciacca. There was a discussion about selecting the terms for the candidates and the Board opted to finalize the decision at the May 10 meeting.
- **A4. Topics Not Reasonably Anticipated by the Chair 48 Hours In Advance, If Any** C. Karlson noted that four members of the Board were slated to appear at the League of Women Voters virtual event, but were not posted as a public meeting. C. Karlson reminded Board members to provide answers of fact and not individual opinions of Board members to comply with the parameters of Open Meeting Law.

A5. Adjourn. At 5:25 p.m., T. Fay moved, seconded by L. Anderson, to adjourn the meeting. Roll Call Vote: YEA: L. Anderson, T. Fay, C. Karlson, D. Watkins. NAY: none. ABSENT: M. Antes. ABSTAIN: none. Adopted 4-0.

Items Distributed for Information and Use by Board of Selectmen during the Meeting of Wednesday, May 5, 2021 otherwise not in Packet

1. There were none.

Items included in the Agenda Packet during the Board of Selectmen Meeting of Wednesday, May 5, 2021

- 1. Resume and Letter of Intent from Kylie Byrne
- 2. Resume and Letter of Intent from Adrienne Correia
- 3. Resume and Letter of Intent from Isabella Donovan
- 4. Resume and Letter of Intent from Dovie King
- 5. Resume and Letter of Intent from Heather Pineault
- 6. Resume and Letter of Intent from Yamini Ranjan
- 7. Resume and Letter of Intent from Isabel Xue