

LOUISE L. E. MILLER TOWN ADMINISTRATOR TEL. (508) 358-7755

www.wayland.ma.us

TOWN OF WAYLAND

41 COCHITUATE ROAD WAYLAND, MASSACHUSETTS 01778

BOARD OF SELECTMEN

LEA T. ANDERSON MARY M. ANTES THOMAS J. FAY CHERRY C. KARLSON DOUGLAS A. LEVINE

Board of Selectmen Meeting Minutes Executive Session December 16, 2019 6:45pm Wayland Town Building, Selectmen's Meeting Room 41 Cochituate Road, Wayland

Attendance: Lea Anderson, Mary Antes, Tom Fay, Cherry Karlson Absent: Doug Levine Also Present: Kathleen Buckley, Human Resources Manager

Purpose: At 6:45pm, C. Karlson called the session to order in the Selectmen's Meeting Room, Wayland Town Building by unanimous roll call vote of the Board (YEA: L. Anderson, M. Antes, T. Fay, C. Karlson. ABSENT: D. Levine. ABSTAIN: None. Adopted 4-0.) in open session as permitted by Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 30A, Section 21(a) (2) to conduct a strategy session in preparation for contract negotiations with non-union personnel (Town Administrator).

Non-union personnel (Town Administrator): The Board reviewed the salary of the Town Administrator with the results of a compensation survey conducted by K. Buckley (document distributed and collected at the end of the meeting). The same format and towns were used as with prior surveys.

C. Karlson reviewed the financial demands on the Town Administrator's office and has requested financial data so the Board can better understand available FY20 funds given the staffing considerations in the TA's office. The sense of the Board was that an increase of approximately \$20,000 (salary and/or deferred comp) was appropriate given the TA's recent positive performance review and the relative ranking among surveyed towns.

L. Anderson moved, seconded by T. Fay, to authorize the Chair, with the assistance of K. Buckley, to negotiate a salary increase with L. Miller within the range discussed. Roll call vote of the Board. YEA: M. Antes, T. Fay, C. Karlson, L. Anderson. NAY: none. ABSENT: D. Levine. ABSTAIN: none. Adopted 4-0.

Exit Executive Session: At 7:12pm, M. Antes moved, seconded by L. Anderson, to exit Executive Session. Roll call vote of the Board. YEA: M. Antes, T. Fay, C. Karlson, L. Anderson. NAY: none. ABSENT: D. Levine. ABSTAIN: none. Adopted 4-0.

Documents provided: