## **Wayland Veterans Memorial**

## FREEDOM PRIZE

The Freedom Prize Essay Competition is one of three parts of the Wayland Veterans Memorial. All share a common theme: "A Celebration of Freedom."

The first part is the granite monument located aside the entrance to the Wayland Town Building. It is a place to sit and contemplate (in the present) the meaning of freedom and the sacrifices some have made to get and protect our freedoms. The monument was dedicated on July 3, 2005.

The *Book of Remembrance*, the second part, was published in 2008. It covers the past in several ways: some one hundred veteran stories, those who have served from Wayland, veterans buried in Wayland, why we fought, and much more.

The Essay Competition is the third part. Held annually, it addresses the future by reaching all Wayland High School students in their sophomore year. Led by Mr. Kevin Delaney and conducted with the Social Studies faculty, each student researches and writes an essay on a topic related to a freedom. Well over one hundred essays are submitted each year. The faculty selects the best 10-12 essays as finalists.

The finalist essays are numerically coded to make their authors unknown to the judges.

The judges remain unnamed but chosen from among prominent citizens. Finalists receive an award certificate on undergraduate awards day ceremony.

The Freedom Prize Winner (and parents) are notified of the selection and invited to the Memorial Day ceremony at Lakeview Cemetery. The award is part of the ceremony and includes a framed certificate and a check for \$500 as the prize. A press release is issued for publication. Copies of the finalist essays are placed in the Wayland High School library, the Wayland library, and the Senior Center in the Wayland Town Building.



The Wayland Veterans Memorial has been entirely funded by privately raised money. The surplus from the monument and sales of the *Book of Remembrance* has been used to endow the Freedom Prize. The Public Ceremonies Committee is responsible for administration of the Freedom Prize.

## WAYLAND VETERANS MEMORIAL FREEDOM PRIZE

## **PREVIOUS FREEDOM PRIZE WINNERS**

Year	Author	Title
2019	Atharva Weling	Monsters Inc.: The Horrors of Private Prisons
2018	Kyle Chen	Attacks on the Press and their Effect on Democracy
2017	Nathan Zhao	Defrauding or Discriminating
2016	Julia Broomer	A Practical Approach to Defeating ISIS
2015	Sarah Tully	Tsarnaev: An Enemy Combatant?
2014	Luke Xu	The Keeper or the Spy: The Age Old Question of National Security in the Internet Age
2013	Charles Nuss	California Prison Conditions
2012	Hannah Kravetz	Westboro Baptist Church: Freedom of Speech for the Despicable
2011	Maggie Holjo	High Standards: Looking at Women's Rights in Iran from an American Point of View
2010	Christine Cocce	The Ignorance of a Nation: "Under God" is Constitutional
2009	David Ryan	Legislative Bias: How the United States Tainted Freedom
2008	Erica Van Sciver	The Torture Word
2007	Olivia Blahut	Iraqi Women
2006	Zoe Leavitt	The Paradox of Freedom of the Press During Wartime