

LOUISE L. E. MILLER TOWN ADMINISTRATOR TEL. (508) 358-3620 www.wayland.ma.us TOWN OF WAYLAND

41 COCHITUATE ROAD WAYLAND, MASSACHUSETTS 01778

> BOARD OF SELECTMEN LEA T. ANDERSON MARY M. ANTES THOMAS J. FAY CHERRY C. KARLSON DOUGLAS A. LEVINE

BOARD OF SELECTMEN Meeting Minutes Executive Session August 21, 2020 8:15 a.m. Wayland Town Building, Council on Aging Room 41 Cochituate Road, Wayland, MA

Attendance: Lea Anderson, Mary Antes, Tom Fay, Cherry Karlson, Doug Levine Absent: None Also Present: Louise Miller, Town Administrator; Seath Crandall, Management Analyst; Carolyn Murray, KPLaw.

Purpose: At 8:17am C. Karlson called the session to order by unanimous roll call vote of the Board (YEA: M. Antes, L. Anderson, T. Fay, C. Karlson, D. Levine. NAY: none. ABSENT: none. ABSTAIN: none. Adopted 5-0-0.) in open session as permitted by Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 30A, Section 21, (a) (3), to discuss strategy with respect to litigation re: Authority to Waive the Necessity for the Town of Wayland to Hold An Annual Town Meeting before Seating Duly Elected Officials.

All members participated remotely via Zoom and confirmed that they were alone and could discuss confidential matters in privacy.

Seating Elected Officials: C. Murray joined the meeting remotely. L. Miller and C. Murray provided a red lined version of a proposed statement of facts from Watkins' counsel. The Board reviewed the document and provided guidance to counsel on edits and additional language. C. Murray C. Karlson noted that the Board already has two meetings planned for next week – Monday evening and Friday morning – and that any revisions can be reviewed during one of those meetings, if needed. The Board again noted its intent to follow the law. T. Fay reminded the Board that each member took an oath to that effect when sworn in.

T. Fay moved, seconded by M. Antes, to authorize L. Miller to finalize the statement of facts with town counsel. Roll call vote: YEA: M. Antes, L. Anderson, T. Fay, C. Karlson. NAY: none. ABSENT: none. ABSTAIN: D. Levine. Adopted 4-0-1.

C. Murray left the meeting.

Exit Executive Session: At 9:13am, T. Fay moved, seconded by L. Anderson, to exit Executive Session and adjourn the meeting. Roll call vote of the Board: YEA: M. Antes, T. Fay, C. Karlson, L. Anderson, D. Levine. NAY: none. ABSENT: None. ABSTAIN: none. Adopted 5-0.

Documents provided:

1. Agreed Upon Statement of Facts provided by Watkins' counsel, red lined (draft), provided by L. Miller, August 21, 2020