ARTICLE 1: RECOGNIZE CITIZENS AND EMPLOYEES FOR PARTICULAR SERVICE TO THE TOWN

Proposed by: Board of Selectmen

To determine whether the Town will recognize the achievements and contributions to Town government of citizens and employees:

- I. To recognize citizens who have served in a volunteer capacity on elected and/or appointed boards, committees, and commissions for a minimum of 25 years (service need not be consecutive);
- 2. To recognize employees who have retired since the previous Annual Town Meeting or intend to retire prior to June 30, 2018, subject to a minimum of 20 years of service;
- 3. To request Town Meeting observe a moment of silence in memory of elected or appointed volunteers, employees with at least IO years of service, or an employee while in service to the Town without regard to tenure who shall have passed away since the adjournment of the 2017 Annual Town Meeting.

The following citizens are recognized for their extensive service to the Town:

Susan Weinstein 25 Yrs	Housing Authority (1992-98, 2000-18)
	Emergency Planning Committee (I 994-97)
	Growth Policy Advisory Committee (1995-97)

Fair Housing Committee (1996-97) Board of Selectmen (1997-2000)

Library Planning Committee (2005-06) Community Preservation Committee (2011-18)

Jean Pratt 36 years Codification Committee (1969-78)

Zoning Board of Appeals (1973-82) Zoning By-Law Committee (1983) Town Meeting Procedures (1985-88)

Charter Commission (1989-90)

Zoning By-Law Study Committee (1999-2001)

Surveyor of Lumber (2002-18)

The following town and school employees have retired since the 2017 Annual Town Meeting or will retire before June 30, 2018 and have or will have served the Town for over 20 years:

Ernest Columbus	42 years	Heavy Equipment Operator
Lynn Dowd	31 years	Director, Youth and Family Services
Tom Large	26 years	Middle School Drama Teacher
Ed Konopka	21 years	Custodian