Community Preservation Committee


The provisions of the Community Preservation Act (CPA) were adopted at the Annual Town Meeting in 2001.  The Community Preservation Committee was formed at that time and its responsibilities are to identify and evaluate potential community preservation projects and, if appropriate, submit project recommendations in the form of articles at town meeting.  The CPA requires that the projects focus on open space, historic preservation, and community housing.  Funds can also be used for the acquisition, creation or preservation of land for recreational purposes.  The Committee currently consists of nine members, one from the Planning Board, Department of Public Works, Historical Commission, Recreation Commission, Conservation Commission, Housing Commission, and three appointments by the Board of Selectmen.

Committee Members


Board of Selectmen

June 2019

Maureen Cavanaugh

Board of Selectmen

June 2017

Historical Commission

June 2019

Ira Montague

Planning Board

June 2019

Susan Weinstein

Housing Authority

June 2018

John Sullivan

Conservation Commission

June 2020

Susan Green

Board of Selectmen

June 2019

Recreation Commission

April 2021

Michael Lowery

Board of Public Works

April 2019