Energy and Climate Committee

Members Contact:

Staff Contact: Ben Keefe, Abigail Shute

About the Committee:

In May 2017, the Board of Selectman, at the request of the Energy Initiatives Advisory Committee, agreed to modify the Committee's name to be the Energy and Climate Committee, to reflect current and future activities.

The Energy and Climate Committee (ECC) is charged with advising the Board of Selectmen, other town boards and committees, the Town Administrator, the School Superintendent and School Committee, and the Public Buildings Director on all issues related to reducing energy use and mitigating climate risks.  These include energy conservation measures, procurement of heating/ventilation/cooling equipment and technologies, policies regarding use of energy and greenhouse gas emissions, renewable energy technologies, equipment and grants, and efforts to engage residents in community wide efforts.

The Committee will work in consultation with the Board of Selectmen in pursuing any significant Town policy initiatives.  If the Energy and Climate Committee (ECC) determines that additional professional or vocational expertise is needed to support specific efforts, it may petition the Board of Selectmen for appointment of non-voting associate members for a limited term.  The five members will serve staggered three-year terms.  The Public Buildings Director and Town Administrator will serve as ex-officio members of the committee.

On October 17, 2022, the Select Board voted to approve the addition of a student associate member for the Energy & Climate Committee.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Abigail Shute Sustainability Manager 508-358-4295